Officers of the California State Assembly

The Speaker, Speaker pro Tempore, Assistant Speaker pro Tempore, the Majority and Republican Leaders are chosen from the membership of the House. The Chief Clerk, Sergeant at Arms, and Chaplain are not Members of the Legislature.

Speaker Honorable Robert Rivas

The highest ranking officer of the Assembly; usually elected by the Assembly Members at the beginning of each two-year legislative session. The Speaker or their designee presides over Floor Session. The Speaker's powers and duties are established by the Assembly Rules.

Speaker pro Tempore Honorable Jim Wood

An officer appointed by the Speaker that presides over Floor Sessions in the absence of the Speaker

Assistant Speaker pro Tempore Honorable Stephanie Nguyen
Majority Leader Honorable Cecilia M. Aguiar-Curry

Appointed by the Speaker, represents the Speaker on the Floor, expedites Assembly Floor proceedings through parliamentary procedures such as motions and points of order and promotes harmony among the membership.

Assistant Majority Leader Honorable Miguel Santiago
Assistant Majority Leader for Policy and Research Honorable Dawn Addis
Majority Whip Honorable Matt Haney
Assistant Majority Whip Honorable Eloise Gómez Reyes
Assistant Majority Whip Honorable Josh Lowenthal
Democratic Caucus Chair Honorable Rick Chavez Zbur
Republican Leader Honorable James Gallagher
Chief Clerk Sue Parker

A nonpartisan officer of the Assembly elected by the majority of the membership at the start of each two-year session as its legislative record keeper and parliamentarian.

Chief Sergeant at Arms Alisa Buckley
Chaplain Imam Mohammad “Yasir” Khan

Daily Schedule

Thursday, May 30, 2024

Regular Session

The Assembly has adjourned until Monday, June 3rd at 1:00 P.M.

First Extraordinary Session

The First Extraordinary Session has adjourned sine die.

Today's Hearings

Regular Session

Back to Top